• Strukturelle Stadtpläne in fünf Städten Mosambiks

    Mozambique Corridors

  • Strukturelle Stadtpläne in fünf Städten Mosambiks

    Alto Molocue

  • Strukturelle Stadtpläne in fünf Städten Mosambiks

    Alto Molocue

  • Strukturelle Stadtpläne in fünf Städten Mosambiks

    Milange

  • Strukturelle Stadtpläne in fünf Städten Mosambiks

    Workshop with local authorities

  • Strukturelle Stadtpläne in fünf Städten Mosambiks
  • Strukturelle Stadtpläne in fünf Städten Mosambiks

    Workshops

  • Strukturelle Stadtpläne in fünf Städten Mosambiks
  • Strukturelle Stadtpläne in fünf Städten Mosambiks
  • Strukturelle Stadtpläne in fünf Städten Mosambiks
  • Strukturelle Stadtpläne in fünf Städten Mosambiks
  • Strukturelle Stadtpläne in fünf Städten Mosambiks
  • Strukturelle Stadtpläne in fünf Städten Mosambiks
  • Strukturelle Stadtpläne in fünf Städten Mosambiks

    Visions for Gurue and Milange

  • Strukturelle Stadtpläne in fünf Städten Mosambiks

    Visions for Alto Molocue and Boane

Strukturelle Stadtpläne in fünf Städten Mosambiks

TSPA entwickelte zusammen mit Vocação Técnica Lda einen strukturellen Stadtplan (Plano De Estrutura Urbana), ein Instrument zur territorialen Verwaltung, das die räumliche Organisation für die fünf Gemeinden Alto Molocue, Boane, Gurue, Nhamatanda und Milange definierte.

Das Projekt reagierte auf die institutionelle Dezentralisierung, die Mosambik 2014 vor dem Hintergrund des raschen demografischen Wachstums und der knappen institutionellen Kontrolle über den geregelten Landbesitz durchgeführt hat.

Drei der Projektstädte – Alto Molocue, Gurue, Milange – liegen in einer der ärmsten und am wenigsten entwickelten Provinzen des Landes, Sambesien. Während die in der Provinz Sofala gelegene Stadt Nhamatanda vom Zyklon Idai dramatisch in Mitleidenschaft gezogen wurde und die in der Region der Hauptstadt Maputo gelegene Stadt Boane vor kurzem über die Gemeinde Boane hergefallen ist, die den größten Ballungsraum des Landes bildet.

Bei diesem Raumplanungsinstrument, das unserem früheren Projekt PEU Sussundenga ähnlich ist, kam ein kooperativer und partizipativer Entscheidungsprozess zum Einsatz, der eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen privaten und öffentlichen Interessengruppen ermöglichte. Das Ergebnis dieses Ansatzes führte zu empirischen Erkenntnissen und einem direkteren Engagement der öffentlichen Institutionen. 

Die Fragilität der lokalen Institutionen und der Mangel an vorhandenem Planungsmaterial stellten zusätzliche Herausforderungen für die Planung der zukünftigen Entwicklung auf der Grundlage der gegenwärtigen Dynamik der Gemeinden dar. Um diesen Herausforderungen zu begegnen, stützte sich die Sammlung umfassender Informationen hauptsächlich auf die Fernrekrutierung offener Raumdaten und die In-situ-Datenerhebung durch Workshops und Fragebögen. 

Das Projekt entwickelte einen Raumdatenspeicher aus Open-Source-Daten der internationalen Organisationen Weltbank und UN-Habitat, der freiwilligen offenen Datenbibliotheken OSM und der zwischenstaatlichen Raumfahrtbehörden NASA und ESA.

TSPA klassifizierte und analysierte Daten, die aus Satellitenbildern und geografischen Informationstools gewonnen wurden, und erstellte nicht nur ein kognitives Instrument, sondern auch Entwicklungsszenarien und Designlösungen. Dieser datengesteuerte Ansatz förderte die Entwicklung von Vorhersagemodellen, die dann in konkrete räumliche Lösungen umgesetzt wurden.

Team: Filippo Imberti, Luca Eisen, Maarten Temisela, Valentina Travaglino, Graham Pugh, Andrea Fantin Collaborators: Vocação Técnica Lda Consultants: Evandro Holz, Liz Gauntner Date: August 2019 Type: Commission Client: MITADER - Mozambican Ministry of Land, Environment and Rural Development Location: Boane, Nhamatanda, Gurué, Alto Molocue, Milange Subject: City & Landscape Planning, Urban Design Surface: 47.9 km2 to 589.36 Km2 Status: Completed

• Structural Urban Plans in five cities of Mozambique

    Mozambique Corridors

  • Structural Urban Plans in five cities of Mozambique

    Alto Molocue

  • Structural Urban Plans in five cities of Mozambique

    Alto Molocue

  • Structural Urban Plans in five cities of Mozambique

    Milange

  • Structural Urban Plans in five cities of Mozambique

    Workshop with local authorities

  • Structural Urban Plans in five cities of Mozambique
  • Structural Urban Plans in five cities of Mozambique

    Workshops

  • Structural Urban Plans in five cities of Mozambique
  • Structural Urban Plans in five cities of Mozambique
  • Structural Urban Plans in five cities of Mozambique
  • Structural Urban Plans in five cities of Mozambique
  • Structural Urban Plans in five cities of Mozambique
  • Structural Urban Plans in five cities of Mozambique
  • Structural Urban Plans in five cities of Mozambique

    Visions for Gurue and Milange

  • Structural Urban Plans in five cities of Mozambique

    Visions for Alto Molocue and Boane

Structural Urban Plans in five cities of Mozambique

TSPA, together with Vocação Técnica Lda, developed a Structural Urban Plan (Plano De Estrutura Urbana) a territorial management instrument that defined spatial organisation for the five municipalities of Alto Molocue, Boane, Gurue, Nhamatanda and Milange.

The project responded to the institutional decentralisation Mozambique undertook in 2014 in a context of rapid demographic growth and scarce institutional control on regulated land ownership.

Three of the project cities – Alto Molocue, Gurue, Milange – are located in one of the poorest and least developed provinces in the country, Zambezia. While Nhamatanda, situated in the Sofala province, was dramatically affected by a cyclone , and Boane, located within the region of the capital Maputo, recently sprawled encroached on Boane municipality forming the largest conurbation in the country.

This spatial planning tool, similar to our previous project PEU Sussundenga, employed a collaborative and participative decision-making process, enabling cooperation across private and the public stakeholders. The result of this approach led to empirical findings and more direct engagement of public institutions.

Shortage of existing planning material and the fragility of the local institutions posed additional challenges to plan future development based on the municipalities’ current dynamics. To address these challenges, the collection of comprehensive information relied mostly on the remote recruitment of open spatial data and in situ data collection through workshops and questionnaires.

The project developed a spatial data repository from open-source data from the international organisations The World Bank andUN-Habitat; the volunteering open data libraries, OSM and the intergovernmental space agencies NASA, ESA.

TSPA classified and analysed data retrieved from satellite images and geographic information tools producing not only a cognitive instrument but also development scenarios and design solutions. This data-driven approach encouraged the development of predictive models, then translated into tangible spatial solutions.

Team: Filippo Imberti, Luca Eisen, Maarten Temisela, Valentina Travaglino, Graham Pugh, Andrea Fantin Collaborators: Vocação Técnica Lda Consultants: Evandro Holz, Liz Gauntner Date: August 2019 Type: Commission Client: MITADER - Mozambican Ministry of Land, Environment and Rural Development Location: Boane, Nhamatanda, Gurué, Alto Molocue, Milange Subject: City & Landscape Planning, Urban Design Surface: 47.9 km2 to 589.36 Km2 Status: Completed